Short Lived Marriage (Part 2)

We met at my husband’s uncle’s house located in a village in Armenia.  I was there with my parents visiting people I’d never seen before. My parents had; they knew the family from decades before and my mom had insisted I go with them.  I did; with no makeup and no hair done. I dressed casually ‘cause I usually don’t put much time or effort into my looks. I’m as boring as a plain brown paper bag, To this day, I am incapable of properly applying makeup to hide the flaws on my face.  Every scar, every mark, every wrinkle is as obvious as dust bunnies on a white cupboard. That day was no exception. My husband joined us and his uncle’s family a short while after we got there. Apparently, his uncle had called him to inform that there’s a single lady and he should come by and make his move.  We met, he was friendly and offered to take me to his church so that I can make a donation there. He called me constantly checking in on me, offering to take me to see some tourist attractions as I was a tourist in Armenia. We established a friendship. About two weeks later, I returned home. Our phone conversations continued and eventually he offered marriage and as much as I rejected the idea over and over again.  Eventually, I was convinced that we should get married. So I agreed. Of course it took another trip to Armenia on my part and then his coming to the States on a fiance Visa but we did it. We got married on March 11 of 2016.  

Leave a comment